Safety Tips

MOPED LAWS

With warmer weather comes an increase in the number of children riding bikes and mopeds on our streets. As drivers, we need to pay more attention to children riding or playing near the street. Watch for that child that is riding a bike or moped, knowing that you may have to react in a split second to avoid hitting the child. Make sure that you slow down and obey the speed limits in any School Zone. As police officers, we see younger children riding mopeds without helmets or eye protection. Some of the children may not be old enough to operate the moped according to Indiana Law.

Indiana Moped Laws:

- Operators must be at least 15 years of age.
- Operators must have an Indiana State Identification Card or valid Drivers License.
- Operators are not to ride on interstate highways or sidewalks.
- Speed is not to exceed 25 mph.
- When an operator or passenger is less than 18 Years of age, s/he Must Wear protective headgear.
- Operators or passengers less than 18 years of age must wear protective glasses, gogoles or a face shield.

There are some mopeds on the streets that have 80cc engines, yet still look like a street-legal moped (under 50cc). These are *not* classified as mopeds. Anything over 50cc is classified as a motorcycle and requires:

- Motorcycle endorsed driver's license
- Proper registration and Insurance

Please drive safely. And remember, don't drink and drive.



Mishawaka Police Department

200 N. Church St. Mishawaka, IN 46544

Phone: 574-258-1678 Fax: 574-258-1690 www.MishawakaCity.com