Close this search box.

Mishawaka Mayor Dave Wood and Common Council Recognizes Mishawaka State Championship Wrestling Team



A Resolution of the Common Council, City Clerk, and Mayor of the City of Mishawaka Honoring the 2022-2023 Mishawaka High School State Championship Wrestling Team

WHEREAS, the Mishawaka High School Wrestling Team has long enjoyed athletic success, winning multiple Indiana team state championships, as well as numerous individual championships; and

WHEREAS, on January 7, 2023, the Mishawaka High School Wrestling Team has added to wrestling program’s legacy by winning the 2023 Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association (IHSWCA) 3A Team State Championship in Franklin, Indiana, defeating East Central (66-12) in the first round, Greenfield Central  (40-28) in the semi-finals round, and Columbus East (43-31) in the championship round: and

WHEREAS, such laudable team accomplishments are only possible as the result of hard work, sacrifice, and determination on the part of the individual wrestlers (and their families) who are part of the team: Dustin Abraham, Brody Blevins, Jack Bonk, Corbin Boocher, Beau Brabender, Aiden Brock, Jason Bupp, Anderson Cannon,  Christian Chavez, Xavier Chavez, Dominic Decloedt, Trey Dunning, Gunnar Eby, Corey Gardner, Drew Ginter, Adien Hernandez, Jackson Hershey, Anthony Hunsberger, Micah Jelinski,  Will Kennedy, Josh Kite, Will Mason, Breyana Moreno, Kayden Oltman, Zander Paden, Chris Peacock, Conner Powell, Courtney Rider, Mikey Robles, Gunnar Sandefur, Colby Smith, Kaylee Smith, Daniel Thompson, Isaac Valdez, Zar Walker, and Caiden Willaims; and

WHEREAS, team excellence is also dependent on the leadership and guidance provided by the coaching staff: Head Coach Steven Sandefer and Assistant Coaches Josh Olsen, Fabian Chavez, Brandon Dillenbeck, Yancy Gradeless, Adam Sandefur, and Collin Meggison; and

WHEREAS, team success is also enhanced by the diligent work of the managers who support them during practices as well as matches; Mia Mason, Rayleigh Dodd, Abbi Holloway, and Liliahna Meyers; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council, the City Clerk, and the Mayor of the City of Mishawaka that such efforts are deserving of recognition and commendation, and as such we declare February 6, 2023, to be


in the City of Mishawaka, and we call upon all citizens to join us in congratulating and saluting this talented and truly remarkable group of students and adults and thank them for their efforts on behalf of their school, the community and the City of Mishawaka.